Android smartphone minus Google Play

The title says it all

Android smartphone minus Google Play

Postby DrFunkenstein » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:09 pm

I'm an absolute noob as far as smartphones are concerned, I got my first one last week and I used smoke signals up until now. What I'm trying to figure out is how to install applications like Firefox and VLC without downloading them from Google Play. You need to create an account for that, and that's one of the things I am definitely trying to avoid.

The process should be simple as far as I can tell after some searching: download the apk file and run it, but this is were the problems start. The only standard app on my phone that can browse files is the "download" app but that doesn't show the apk's. They're definitely there, I downloaded them with my PC, transferred them to my phone and I can see them when I use Windows Explorer to browse the drive on my phone, but the phone itself doesn't show them.

My phone is running Android 4.4.4

Any ideas?

Dr. Funkenstein

P.S. Suggesting a Linux distro for my phone will result in a ban on the server. Just kidding, I'll probably try that at some point but at the moment I'm trying to figure out how to get control over my phone using Android. One step at a time :) ,
How easy it must be not to think of nipple clamps!
DrFunkenstein

Re: Android smartphone minus Google Play

Postby DrBush » Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:02 pm

Hola,
maybe you can find a solution here...
Good luck, I bought my first Smartphone last month......
But I am using the account of Angie for the playstore.......

http://android.stackexchange.com/questi ... le-account
This one will help you more...
http://android.stackexchange.com/questi ... s-apk-file

The last link shows more variations like sending the apk to your mail account and you can straight install it from there, if you are opening the attachment....

Just before you have change some settings like this